Results of the elections for the BIPS Governing Council
Published on December 1, 2022
Written by BIPS

In November 2022, BIPS held elections to fill five vacancies on its Governing Council. There were six candidates and voting took place online.


The five elected members to the Governing Council are:

Dr Richard McClary – University of York

Professor Andrew Newman – University of Edinburgh

Dr Arezou Azad – University of Oxford

Dr Roham Alvandi FRHistS – London School of Economics and Political Science

Dr Shabnam Holliday – University of Plymouth


The results were officially announced during the Annual General Meeting on 28 November 2022 and these members will serve on the Council until the Annual General Meeting in 2025.


We wish them all the best for their terms at the British Institute of Persian Studies.

Join our mailing list
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.